Greetings from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Librarian!

By James E. Manasco

Did you know that Ekstrom Library has an Engineering and Physical Sciences Librarian? Well, yes, it does! I’m James Manasco and I’m your friendly, neighborhood Science Librarian. You may be asking yourself, “Self, what is a Science Librarian?” Librarians come in many flavors, from catalogers, to reference librarians, to metadata creators to administrators. Science Librarians specialize in helping folks with questions in the Physical Sciences and Engineering. Science Librarians have experience or education (or both) in the realm of the sciences.   How can you trust me to help you with your science information needs? Good question! Here’s a little bit of information about me:

I began my career in science libraries by serving as the Head Technician at the Chemistry/Physics Library of the University of Kentucky from 1991-1996. While I served Chem/Phys, I completed both my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees (American History and Library and Information Science, respectively). In my first professional post, I served The Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colorado as their Natural Sciences Liaison Librarian (the second to serve in that role) from 1996-1999. I returned to the University of Kentucky in late 1999 when I assumed the position of Head Librarian for the Robert E. Shaver Library of Engineering. I stayed there until June of 2003, when I made the jump to the Kornhauser Health Sciences Library here at UofL, where I served for year before transferring to the Special Collections Department in the summer of 2004. I then added Collection Development in 2006 and finally relinquished Special Collections in 2009. Beginning in January 2014, I moved to my current position. All in all, I have worked in academic libraries for over 27 years.

A good librarian is professionally active and I have been fortunate to build a strong network with other information professional in the sciences and other specialized fields thanks to my involvement with the Special Libraries Association (SLA), an international association of information professionals. I have served the Association as President of the Kentucky Chapter (twice) and Chair of the Science-Technology and Information Technology Divisions. I also served as Chair of the association’s 2010 Conference Advisory Council. I have been honored several times and have received the 2007 Outstanding Chapter Member Award and the 2003-2004 Professional Award from the Kentucky Chapter; the 2010 Impossible Award from the Science-Technology Division for editing the multi-division bulletin Sci-Tech News and was named a Fellow of SLA in 2010.

All of this is just a very long way to let you know that I may have a passing familiarity with the field of science librarianship. I am more than willing to meet with you individually to help with your research and I can certainly serve faculty by providing instruction for your classes. I can be found in the Reference Department of Ekstrom Library, but following is my complete contact information. I look forward to serving you!

James E. Manasco
Engineering & Physical Sciences LIbrarian
140 Ekstrom Library
University of Louisville
Phone: 502-852-8731
e-mail: james.manasco@louisville.edu



Leave a Reply

