Kentucky’s Finest Trading Cards
Posted: January 27, 2012 Filed under: Databases Leave a comment »Are there any WildCat fans in Cardinal country? Well, having an experience with Big Blue Nation does not always require a drive to Lexington–in fact, it’s just a few clicks away. The Kentuckiana Digital Library (KDL) has a large Collection of University of Kentucky trading cards. Published between the 1970s and 1990s and sold as a set or in packets at the time, on the backside you can find statistics, biographical information, or trivia. The physical cards are stored in the University of Kentucky Libraries, Special Collections repository.
In the KDL you can find much more from historic kentucky newspapers like, the Courier-Journal and the Hickman Courier, to oral histories of Anne Braden and Harlan Hubbard, along with maps, images, and various documents. And, they are all digitized collections that serve to enhance to your pursuit of scholarship, research and lifelong learning about Kentucky and beyond.
In the meantime, enjoy taking a trip back down memory lane by viewing trade cards from the likes of Melvin Turpin, Kyle Macy, Pat Riley, Rex Chapman, Kenny ‘Sky’ Walker and others. Go Big Blue!
For more information about the collection and access and use policies click here.
Peer Reviewed Sources 101
Posted: January 24, 2012 Filed under: Databases, Research Tips 1 Comment »Professors often steer students away from sources like, Google and Wikipedia, because of the likelihood in finding unreliable information. Instead, they want you to use things called, “peer reviewed” sources. But, why?
Well, peer reviewed sources are works produced by people just like your professors–they are educators and scholars. And, they are known by other names like, scholarly, refereed, and academic journals. So, what is the benefit of using peer reviewed sources when you can quickly put something together from a Google search?
Here are some ways using peer-reviewed sources can pay off in your academic life:
1. Build Your Reputation. Peer reviewed sources carry with them the reputation of being credible (legit) and reliable. How much more will your academic performance be considered as such when you utilize peer reviewed sources for research papers or presentations? It also demonstrates to your professors that you’ve taken the time to be critical about the types of sources utilized.
2. Graduate Studies Preparation. Much of the work done by graduate students requires finding evidenced-based research, empirical studies, and conducting literature reviews. The bulk of these types of sources are found in peer reviewed sources—Ka-ching!
3. Google Scholar-It! Yes, you can find peer-reviewed sources in the Libraries databases (e.g., JSTOR, Academic Search Premier). But, you don’t have to do away with Google as a student altogether. Try Google Scholar. Here you can find books and peer reviewed articles; many of them, are linked directly from the library’s databases. This can be a real time saver.
4. Make Decisions with Confidence. Peer reviewed sources are packed full of things like, charts and graphs. Then, there are References lists that can direct you to other sources on the topic. Even more, is the technical terminology that can help you as beginner researcher learn the lingo of the discipline. This level of comprehensiveness gives you confidence in being certain that the source is useful for what you need.
For more information about peer reviewed sources visit our Magazine or Journal? page.
Researching Women’s History
Posted: January 22, 2012 Filed under: Collections, Databases, Libraries 1 Comment »Do you need an online source with coverage on women’s history? The UofL Libraries now has access to the database Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000. The collection includes items such as, full-text sources, bibliographies, primary source documents, and reviews for books, films, and websites. You can search by keyword, title, or various browsing options by movement, people, and more.
Topics in this collection include:
- Feminists - Shirley Chisholm, Betty Friedan, Frederick Douglass
- Biographies - Abigail Smith Adams, Annie Oakley
- Politics – Populist Party, League of Women Voters
- Social Movements – Women’s Suffrage, Ending Violence Against Women
This collection is located in our Databases List under the letter “W”. For questions about this database please contact the Women’s & Gender Studies Librarian, Toccara D. Porter by email or phone at 852-6747.
Colonial Williamsburg Digital Library
Posted: August 1, 2011 Filed under: Databases Leave a comment »Did you know the Colonial Williamsburg Digital Library is searchable from any computer with Internet access?
Inside are digitized documents related to U.S. Colonial History including, the Virginia Gazette, and other manuscripts from the Foundations collection. Coverage is from 1680-1930.
Image from The Official Photography of Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.
Charles Manson is in the Library
Posted: June 6, 2011 Filed under: Databases, Music Library, Technology Leave a comment »
Is Charles Manson really in the library? Yes, but not physically.
You can listen to his album Lie, the Love and Terror Cult, along with many other recording artists in the database American Song.
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America’s past. Songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, anti-war protests, the Civil War, and more are included.
Summer EndNote Classes Begin on June 8th!
Posted: June 3, 2011 Filed under: Databases, Services, Technology Leave a comment »Do you need a better method for organizing your bibliographic citations? EndNote can help! This first workshop will show you such things as, how to create manual references and exporting citations from a database into EndNote.
Classes are limited to 10 people. Click here to register for any of the sessions.
Visit our EndNote LibGuide or call the Ekstrom Library Reference Desk at 852-6747 for more information.
Researching Grants in the Library
Posted: June 3, 2011 Filed under: Databases | Tags: grants, tutorials, Web of Science Leave a comment »Did you know you can find information about publications that have received grant funding through Web of Science?
View a short tutorial to see how!
Art Full Text
Posted: May 24, 2011 Filed under: Art Library, Databases, Uncategorized | Tags: art, databases, full-text Leave a comment »If you need to research an art paper after the library is closed, you now have an option – Art Full Text.
Using Art Full Text you can read journal articles online as far back as 1997. The database also abstracts articles from 1994 and indexes articles from 1929. Art Full Text covers all media in all countries with recently expanded coverage of Latin American and Asian art, new artists and contemporary art. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproduction of works of art that appear in the articles.
So next time you find yourself needing another article or two to improve your paper or bolster your bibliography, don’t forget Art Full Text.
And when you’re not in a rush, explore the other art databases we have to offer. You’ll be surprised how efficient it is to search in a specialized database.
To access the databases, go to the Art Library’s home page, http://louisville.edu/library/art. The links to the databases are in the middle of the page.
3-D anatomy
Posted: May 11, 2011 Filed under: Databases, Kornhauser Health Sciences Library | Tags: anatomy, dentistry Leave a comment »I’m working with the librarians from the Kornhauser Health Sciences Library to revise their homepage and one of the things they wanted was a space to show off some of their great resources. So I was playing with some of their databases and came across Anatomy TV for Dentistry. I think it’s my new favorite database!
It shows three-dimensional views of body parts and when you hover over the different parts it tells you what they are. What a cool tool for learning your anatomy!
A little Charles Bukowski race track poetry
Posted: April 29, 2011 Filed under: Databases, Literature | Tags: bukowski, horses, poetry, racing Leave a comment »Here’s a little poetry for you in honor of the Kentucky Derby. Go, baby, go!
Bukowski, Charles : a day at the oak tree meet
[from Mockingbird Wish Me Luck (1972), Black Sparrow Press ]
Filet’s Rule, the 12 horse around 12 to one,
that was the first race, they had a different
janitor in the men’s room, and I didn’t have the
2nd race either, Bold Courage, around 19 to one,
my Kentucky Lark got a dead ride from the boy
who stood up in the saddle all the way, which is
hardly a way to ride a 2 to one shot, …
[Read the rest of the poem in Literature Online]



